Last night on the way home I got a flat on the freeway. Rather than switching the tire for the space saver spare that seems to be the inevitable component of all new cars today, I decided to go ahead and have it towed to the tire station where I'd bought the tires, 50,000 miles ago. I was pretty sure that the tires were still okay. Most likely just a nail or something had pierced its tread. Or at least that is what I hoped had happened.

The tow truck driver agreed to give me a ride home after dropping off the car. As soon as he found out what I did for a living, I couldn't stop him from talking. Not that what he had to say wasn't interesting, but as he outlined one idea for an invention he had concocted after another, I started to wonder if he truly was on to anything, or if this was all just the ravings of a meth head. Crystal meth is often the drug of choice of tow truck drivers, or so I understand. I started to look at him a little more closely as he kept chattering incessantly, but I wasn't really certain if this was the product of a drug addled mind.

By the time he got me home and let me out of his truck I was pretty weary of his ideas. To hear him tell it, he had solved everything from how a tow truck driver could break into a car without leaving a scratch on the door panel, to solutions for matters that I didn't realize were problematic, such as band aids that changed color to tell us when they needed to be replaced.

The next day though, was the real surprise. As I pulled up to the service station, much later in the day than I had anticipated, it seemed to me that the tire looked a lot less flat than when I had left it. In fact, I started to wonder whether it had been completely flat at all - at best, the tire looked a little deflated.

I walked in and started to explain why I was there. "I had my car towed here last night because it got a flat -" but the shop manager cut me off. "I already took care of it." He just smiled.